Sunday, November 27, 2016

French Indochina notes


Central Bank :          Central Bank of Myanmar
Headquarters :      BundShanghai
Currency :                  French Indochinese piastre
Subunit :              1100  cent
User(s) :              French Indochina

The old Banque de l'Indo-Chine building in The Bund, Shanghai, was built in the French Renaissance style in 1910.

French Indochina Currency

France created Indochinese Union (French Indochina) in 1887 by grouping three Vietnamese regions of Tonkin, Annam, and Cochinchina with Cambodia and Laos(was added later in 1893). French Indochinese piastre was the currency of French Indochina between 1885 and 1952.(Subunit : 1 piastre = 100 cent)

Bank notes
In 1892, the Banque de l'Indochine introduced 1 piastre notes, followed the next year by 5, 20 and 100 piastres. Between 1920 and 1922, 10, 20 and 50 cent notes were also issued. In 1939, 500 piastre notes were introduced.
In 1939, the Gouvernement General de l'Indochine introduced 10, 20 and 50 cent notes, followed by 5 cents in 1942.
In 1945, the Banque de l'Indochine introduced 50 piastres, followed by 10 piastres in 1947.
In 1953, the Institut d'Emission des Etats du Cambodge, du Laos et du Vietnam took over the issuance of paper money. A 1 piastre note was issued that year in the name of all three states which are Cambodia, Laos and Vietnam.In addition, between 1952 and 1954, notes were introduced denominated in piastre and one of three new currencies, the Cambodian riel, Lao kip and South Vietnamese đồng.For Cambodia, notes in denominations of 1, 5, 10, 100 and 200 piastres/riel were introduced. For Laos, 1, 5, 10 and 100 piastres/kip were introduced. For South Vietnam, 1, 5, 10, 100 and 200 piastre/đồng were introduced.

In 1954, the Viet Minh won the decisive victory against French forces at the gruelling Battle of Điện Biên Phủ and the French Indochina came to an end.In Saigon, the anti-Communist State of Vietnam, led by former Emperor Bảo Đại, was granted independence in 1949. On 9 November 1953, the Kingdom of Laos and the Kingdom of Cambodia became independent.


French Indochina Currency

കംബോഡിയയും, ലാവോസും മൂന്ന് വിയറ്റ്നാമീസ് പ്രദേശങ്ങളായ Tonkin, Annam, Cochinchina എന്നിവയും കൂട്ടിച്ചേർത്ത് 1887-ൽ നിലവിൽ വന്ന ഫ്രഞ്ച് അധിനിവേശപ്രദേശമാണ് Indochinese Union (French Indochina). 1885 മുതൽ 1952 വരെ French Indochina- യിൽ നിലവിലുണ്ടായിരുന്ന കറൻസിയാണ് French Indochinese piastre. (Subunit : 1 piastre = 100 cent)

Bank notes

1892-ൽ Banque de l'Indochine ആദ്യമായി 1 piastre നോട്ടുകൾ പുറത്തിറക്കി. അടുത്ത വർഷം 5, 20, 100 piastres നോട്ടുകളും 1920-നും 1922 നും ഇടയിൽ 10, 20, 50 cent നോട്ടുകളും 1939-ൽ 500 piastres നോട്ടുള്ളതും ഇഷ്യൂ ചെയ്യപ്പെട്ടു.

എന്നാൽ 1939-ൽ Gouvernement General de l'Indochine(colonial administrator) 10, 20, 50 cent നോട്ടുകളും 1942-ൽ 5 cent നോട്ടുകളും പുറത്തിറക്കി. 

പിന്നീട് 1945-ൽ വീണ്ടും Banque de l'Indochine തന്നെ 50 piastres നോട്ടുകളും 1947-ൽ 10 piastres നോട്ടുകളും ഇഷ്യൂ ചെയ്തു.

1953-ൽ Institut d'Emission des Etats du Cambodge, du Laos et du Vietnam (പസഫിക് മേഖലകളിലെ ഫ്രഞ്ച് അധീന പ്രദേശങ്ങളിൽ കറൻസികൾ ഇഷ്യൂ ചെയ്യുവാൻ ഉത്തരവാദിത്തപെട്ട സ്ഥാപനം) കറൻസി ഇഷ്യൂ ചെയ്യുവാനുള്ള അധികാരം ഏറ്റെടുത്തു. ശേഷം അതെ വർഷം തന്നെ കംബോഡിയ, ലാവോസ്, വിയറ്റ്‌നാം എന്നീ മൂന്ന് സ്റ്റേറ്റുകളുടെ പേരുകളും ഉൾകൊള്ളിച്ചു കൊണ്ടുള്ള 1 piastre നോട്ടുകൾ ഇഷ്യൂ ചെയ്യപ്പെട്ടു.

1954-ൽ ദിയെൻ ബിയെൻ ഫൂ എന്ന സ്ഥലത്ത് വച്ച് വിയറ്റ്മിൻ സേന ഫ്രഞ്ചുകാരെ പരാജയപ്പെടുത്തുന്നതോടു കൂടി French Indochina എന്ന ഫ്രഞ്ച് അധിനിവേശ ഭരണത്തിന് അന്ത്യം കുറിക്കപ്പെട്ടു. Tonkin, Annam, Cochinchina എന്നെ പ്രദേശങ്ങൾ കൂടിച്ചേർന്ന് വിയറ്റ്നാം 1949-ൽ സ്വാതന്ത്രം നേടി. ലാവോസും(Laos) കംബോഡിയായും(Cambodia) 1953-ലും സ്വാതന്ത്രം പ്രഖ്യാപിക്കപ്പെട്ടു.


1 piastre
Item Code: 75/FIC-1
Young woman; Pavilion
Young peasant carrying fruits; Cattle
Hermes or Mercury
127 x 80 mm

No comments:

Post a Comment